Collection: Vegan

Many of us assume that wines are, by default, ok for vegans.  But this isn’t always the case;  some traditional fining agents are based on animal products.

Fining is the process used to remove unstable proteins from finished wines before bottling.  In white and rosé wines these grape-derived proteins can create a haze which would be unattractive and seen as a fault.  The haze is not normally visible in red wines, meaning that a higher percentage of red wines are unfined.  Traditional fining agents include egg white, gelatine and casein (milk protein).  Vegan alternatives are becoming more widely used - for example vegetable protein and charcoal.

The wines in the Aroha Wine Vegan Collection are made without the use of any animal products, they are delicious and ready to enjoy!