Aroha Wine


Wine Regions

North Canterbury

The North Canterbury wine region spans nearly 200km of the South Island’s eastern coastline, with the magnificent Alps to the west and the sweeping Pacific Ocean to the east.


Auckland is one of New Zealand’s oldest wine regions, established in the early 1900s by passionate Croatian, Lebanese and English winemakers.Spread across a large, geographically diverse area, the Auckland wine region encompasses three distinctive subregions, the island of Waiheke, historic West Auckland and stretches north to the coastal enclave...

Read more

Martinborough, Wairarapa

Wairarapa means glistening waters in Māori.With a cool climate and Burgundian soil profile Martinborough, Wairarapa is an area initially renowned for stunning Pinot Noir. It is a windy and cool region – the cold southerly wind whips up from the Cook Strait and is funnelled towards Martinborough by mountains...

Read more

Hawke’s Bay

Hawke’s Bay is New Zealand’s second largest wine region.A warm, temperate climate makes the Hawke’s Bay region ideal for fruit. Vines were first planted in 1851 by missionaries – the area is now known as Mission Winery.Hawke’s Bay has an international reputation for producing high quality Bordeaux Blends (primarily from...

Read more

Central Otago

Central Otago is the world’s southernmost commercial wine growing region, famous for producing outstanding Pinot Noir as well as vivid, aromatic whites.‘ The extreme climate rewards careful site selection with wines of great intensity and finesse, and encourages an increased focus on sub-regional expression. ‘ www.nzwine.comAlexandraThe southernmost of the...

Read more


Marlborough is New Zealand’s largest wine region and accounts for nearly 75% of wine production.A cool climate with long sunshine hours, low rainfall and well-draining, moderately fertile soils produces uniquely vivid wines.Sauvignon Blanc put New Zealand on the world wine map in the 1980. Since then, Marlborough has become...

Read more